Yesterday, I reported to you that Google (via Stopbadware.org) had marked wowui.incgamers.com (which redirects to wowui.worldofwar.net) as a bad site. Today, the site is reported as clean according to the same report (you can check it out here).
Rushter of Incgamers.com explained to us on the comments of the previous article that the problem was with a seperate attack on a different hosted site (which was quickly dealt with, and unrelated to worldofwar.net, says Rushster), but Google marked the whole site as bad. The worldofwar.net UI database was unaffected, he says, and after some back and forth, Google has now dropped the warning.
Of course, it's still always a good idea to check your computer for viruses, trojans, and keyloggers regularly, and realize that no website is completely safe (though having a good defense always helps). That said, at the moment it looks like wowui.incgamers.com, also known as wowui.worldofwar.net, is a safe spot to grab your addons from.














Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
4-15-2008 @ 4:17PM
Nasrin said...
I was reading on the WoW UI/Macros forum the whole dramatic story that was brought from the dead by a recent reply. After reading everything, I was slightly amazed. I wouldn't use their site....never have, and now never will.
Reply
4-15-2008 @ 4:36PM
Beelzebud said...
I wouldn't touch that site with a ten foot pole at this point.
Reply
4-15-2008 @ 5:17PM
supersaint said...
Agreed, I use WowMatrix and WAU for my update needs now.
Reply
4-15-2008 @ 5:37PM
PeeWee said...
The ads in WAU have been infected with malware as well, and Firefox+Noscript won't help you there.
4-15-2008 @ 6:06PM
Slayblaze said...
It's a good thing the ads here at WowInsider (and every other site on the entire internet) are totally clean, right Peewee?
You're full of crap...WAU's ads are have as much malware as anything else would. If you're scared you may as well just unplug your PC forever.
4-15-2008 @ 8:26PM
Aaron said...
If you by any chance use AdMuncher, you can set the filter on the WAU window to block any malicious ads whatsoever. But I've been using the java JWoWUpdater ever since. Can't say I'd trust WoWMatrix really, after seeing gold levelling ads on their site tbh
4-16-2008 @ 1:09PM
PeeWee said...
Slayblaze:
1) I was full of crap? I guess you haven't read the latest news concerning WAU, have you? And "WAU's ads are have as much malware as anything else would." Sure, but with Firefox and NoScript the malware code won't be executed like it will on IE.
2) Firefox and AdBlock+NoScript will protect you far much better than IE will. And since WAU uses IE to display its ads (that are now removed, following the drama around the ads containing malware) Firefox won't help you. They did the right thing to remove the ads completely from WAU.
4-15-2008 @ 5:59PM
Sean Riley said...
Wowinterface. Only Wowinterface.
Now would someone get FlagRSP2 on Wowinterface, if they'd be so kind? Pleasure.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 3:31AM
Johnny B said...
Guys, really, you should listen to poster PeeWee, I assume it is not THE PeeWee, Firefox+Noscript and you will not have to worry as much.
Firewall and antivirus is also handy. At work I surf this site, thottbot, wowhead and the forums with IE6 (yes, on win2k) and at one point the virus scanner here picked up a trojan.
O.o well I had the IT calling me asking if I was looking at dubious sites at work. Hehe, wouldnt think WoW sites were considered dubious but never know.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 7:14AM
Rushster said...
Thanks for the story Daniel. Can I suggest in future that WoWInsider editors do some full research on stories and actually try and get some comment from the source in future instead of scaremongering the community. It's not the first time it's happened affecting our site, but also other sites, and there is never comments included from tha actual source of the problem which is poor journalism. Some good jounralistic integrity is in order here on WoWInsider, something that is currently lacking.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 7:43AM
Rushster said...
Just to prove that we are not the only people that get problems, as some people have been suggesting with comments like 'I wouldn't touch that site' in these threads, even WoW Ace is not immune as a Trojan appeared in their app today.
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?forumId=11114&sid=1&topicId=5951465371&pageNo=1&
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 9:13AM
Guze said...
Yeah, after this and everything they have done in the past...I never would use this site. Not only that but the constant "OMG WE DINT DO IT" from Rushster makes it seem more than suspicious. Might I suggest you just ignore comments like mine? Everyone has a right to not agree or not like something, if its not true then you don't have much to worry about.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 9:52AM
Rushster said...
The "OMG WE DINT DO IT" comment is just silly. That has not happened, the only reason you think that is becuase you read it on other sites. If you bothered to look at the site at any point of an issue occuring you will see comments from the admin team highlighting any problems. The only time we post on the Blizzard boards (which we try to avoid for obvious reasons) is when someone like yourself comes on and starts spouting off. This is the case of believing the garbage that usually appears on the Blizz forums and fueled by users who want to stick the boot in. And yes we do ignore silly comments but sometimes peoople have to be set straight.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 10:21AM
Vanguze said...
But...your doing it again. Why do you feel the need to attack me or anyone else. All wow insider did was make everyone aware of what google was saying...and you get all pissy. They retracted it and you still have a bur up your ass. Kinda obvious something else is up.
4-16-2008 @ 11:43AM
JPaterson said...
Besides a terrible site that one would only visit if they are using the computer of someone they hate and are purposely trying to get it infected with something malicious?
Yeah, WoWUI is just a fantastic place. Terrible layout, consistently slow, you're always having problems and never admitting its on you, your server, or a related server, and are, in general, an idiot of a webmaster who knows little to nothing about technology.
If only there was a /delete command for WoWUI.
4-16-2008 @ 12:41PM
supersaint said...
Just do what I do, never click on banner ads.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 2:05PM
Rushster said...
Vanguze, I am not attacking anyone, all I am saying is that perhaps people should not be so liberal with the truth. One thing I don't like is bad journalism to the point where it affects something many people have voluntarily poured a LOT of their own time into over the past 5 years to support the community.
Thanks JPaterson for the for proving my point in this thread. The 'never admitting it' comment sums up exactly what I was saying. Please spend some time reading from the source in future and not some forum thread or news post you read somewhere. Glad you love the site btw.
PS: I have been webmastering for more than 10 years for Blizzard sites so I think I am slightly more experienced than most people running sites these days.
Reply
4-16-2008 @ 2:22PM
Tolyre said...
First it is not bad journalism. They reported what someone ASAID. I could report that my brother said Hitler was still alive. It's not bad journalism. ME saying Hitler is still alive might be.
Learn the difference.
Reply
4-22-2008 @ 8:37PM
Artemis said...
This is not the first time (and probably will not be the last) that Rush has denied that there was an issue with the site. So, I'm not surprised or shocked at his denials.
Reply